Odd Couple Chronicle

Nias Journal 1 : The Beginning August 25, 2005

Filed under: Indonesia,Pictures,Travelling — ambar @ 12:16 pm


flight to Nias

Saturday 30th July

Flight been delayed. Elaine (uf whoever I couldn’t remember) called at 2am in the morning said everything would be reschedule!! Silk Air cancelled their flight to Medan. In frantic effort team got the flight with Garuda Indonesia 11.30am. Arrived at 12pm in Polonia Airport where packed with humannitarian flight to Aceh and Nias. Nelly, the travel agent picked us up and gave tickets of return flight Medan-Gunung Sitoli with Merpati Airlines. We had to pay excesse baggage for our boxes. I hate it. The staff really pissed me off . We already said that we were charity team from Singapore to Nias. We end up have to pay Rp 250,000 for 4 kg. They even asked extra money for the receipt. Bugger !

Our flight to Gunung Sitoli (Nias) was good. To be honest I don’t like bumpy flight. Rahim sat next to me said it was normal. Oh yeah but I got my nerves burst out. Arrived at Gunung Sitoli at 3pm. Oh as you know Sumatra was an hour late from Singapore time. I have been told to call Yaman (Merpati representative) about van that should take us to PKPA office. In fact the van was already there ! Just asked few people where’s the driver.

The van was about too small for 7 people plus our belonging. I sat on the back along with rucksack. I even had to put my leg up’cause on the base full of boxes.


cramping on the van from airport to Mudik village

Thanks God, journey to Mudik village only half an hour. It was only a single line roadway in Nias. Enough for a car and motorcycle. We had to stop several times due the traffic (whoaaa…). I tell you the Niasan drove their motor like a mad !


Here we are the team (Merlissa, Ambar,Sue Jan, Ady ‘the Hulk’, and Rahim)

We had a first glimpse about Nias. Walked along the shore area that badly affected by earthquake. Sad though…but we watched Niasan played football surounding by rubbles and steels. I thought about Niasan. They refused to pity themselves.

 

Leave a Reply

